We Are Returning To Normal, Mostly.

Lee Mac Arthur
2 min readOct 25, 2022

--

Just the other day, I went to the grocery store to pick up a couple of things and really took a look around. Most everyone was going through without wearing a mask, using hand sanitizer, or wiping down the carts. In fact, those little baskets, the ones you hold on your arm, are back.

It seems that everywhere I go, everyone has quit wearing masks including myself. For many, they are tired of this whole COVID thing, for others they realized that for the most part, they are not super close to anyone else and for some, they don’t care and just want everything to be back to normal.

There are no longer those places you go to get the negative COVID test so you can travel, go back to work, or just find out if you’ve got it. In fact, most airlines, airports and public transit no longer require masks to board. In addition, most countries have eliminated all COVID requirements so you can just go. The only group that still requires masks are medical ones such as the doctor or dentist.

Personally, I am pretty much up to date on all my COVID vaccinations and even with these, I ended up with an asymptomatic case. The only reason I discovered I had it was the country I flew to required a test upon arrival, otherwise I’d have never known.

I do carry a mask with me should I go into a place that has tons of folks or when I’m at the airport, or on the airplane but in general, I don’t bother because I feel that COVID has evolved into being just another flu. I admit, I will wear a mask if I am around someone who I know has serious health issues or if they request it, otherwise I’m not too worried.

I think in general, most people have reached a point that they feel that COVID is just another version of the seasonal flu. They have grown tired of everything and just want to be back to normal so they choose to live their lives as they did before. We gather, we party, we go to dinner, and we are living our lives again. Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear. Have a great day.

--

--